Iceberg Lettuce: Love It or Hate It?

(nl: IJssla krop)Iceberg lettuce

(nl: IJssla krop)Iceberg lettuce (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

In the 1940s, iceberg lettuce was the only variety bred to survive cross-country shipping, which is why it became ubiquitous in American salad bowls. Its name came from the piles of ice it was packed in for shipping. Now, with so many kinds of salad greens available, iceberg remains popular on restaurant menus.

I can’t stand the stuff, unless it’s slathered with blue cheese dressing. My husband, however, prefers tasteless iceberg over any lettuce that has a modicum of flavor, although he will eat romaine if he has to. What’s your go-to salad green?

Read: Tip of the Iceberg: Our Love-Hate Relationship With the Nation’s Blandest Vegetable | Food & Think.

Tagged: ,

3 thoughts on “Iceberg Lettuce: Love It or Hate It?

  1. Jonny Eberle 30 March 2013 at 2:03 pm

    Definitely romaine, arugula or spinach for me. Why torture yourself with iceberg when you can have flavor and nutrition?

  2. isaiah43123 31 March 2013 at 2:27 pm

    I prefer Romaine… however, iceberg does have add crispness when mixed with other greens.

  3. Marty 5 April 2013 at 5:20 pm

    I take exception with the idea that I prefer “tasteless iceberg lettuce.” I, for one, find that it has a preferable taste to the more bitter and limp lettuces. It’s not a salad if the lettuce isn’t green and doesn’t snap in my book.

Comments are closed.

