Old-Fashioned Turkey Noodle Soup — Foster’s Market

I seem to make this Old-Fashioned Turkey Noodle Soup once a year, around the holidays when leftover turkey is abundant. The recipe is from the Foster’s Market Cookbook, but fortunately, it is also online.

I start by cutting all the leftover meat off the turkey bone. I put the bone in a big pot, cover it with water, and add roughly chopped onions, carrots and celery (don’t bother to peel). Throw in a bay leaf and few whole peppercorns. I simmer this for a couple of hours, then drain and discard the solids. This homemade stock doesn’t take much effort and definitely results in a richer, more satisfying soup.

I like this recipe because it is very adaptable, and thus is a great way to make use of any leftovers hanging around. I omitted the pasta and parsnips this time, but I added a peeled, diced potato and, in the last few minutes, some leftover green beans. Watch the cooking times in the recipe: I think they’re a bit too long, especially at the beginning. I was able to shorten the time for softening the vegetables without any noticeable issues. This recipe will yield plenty of leftovers, suitable for freezing.

This soup is tasty and, after the indulgences of the holidays, very healthy. You can also make it with leftover roast chicken. Here is a link to the recipe on the Foster’s Market website. Enjoy!

Tagged: , , ,

8 thoughts on “Old-Fashioned Turkey Noodle Soup — Foster’s Market

  1. Rosalee 31 December 2013 at 5:39 pm

    so where is the recipe? I clicked on it but it brought up an error page

  2. Shannon 31 December 2013 at 5:49 pm

    How annoying. I have fixed the link so please try again, Rosalee.

  3. Rosalee 31 December 2013 at 6:01 pm

    oh much better…………thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. mycopenhagenn 1 January 2014 at 4:36 pm

    please share the recipe

  5. Shannon 1 January 2014 at 4:37 pm

    I linked to the recipe on the Foster’s Market website.

  6. treasuretrove 1 January 2014 at 5:48 pm

    thank you

  7. Jenny 28 March 2014 at 5:10 am

    Noodle soup is my families favorite soup. I will definitely try this and send you feedback Thank you 🙂

Comments are closed.

